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STATUS�HEARING 
 

Legal Overview of Status Hearing 
 

Texas Family Code 
Title 5. The Parent-Child Relationship & the Suit Affecting the Parent-Child Relationship 
Chapter 263. Review of Placement of Children under Care of Department of Family and 

Protective Services  
Subchapter C. Status Hearing 

 
The Status Hearing focuses on the child’s status and service plan. The Status Hearing is an 
opportunity for the judge and other parties to review the service plan, but it is generally not 
considered an opportunity to re-litigate whether the child should have been placed in the 
legal custody of DFPS. 

Please see the Checklist Section for Status Hearing Checklist. 
 
A. Status Hearing  

B. Mandatory Findings 

C. Court Shall Advise/Warn Parents 

D. Court Shall Review Service Plan 

E. Court Shall Review Visitation Plan 

F. Child Placement Resources Form Required 

G. Permanency Planning Meetings 

H. Assessments 

I. Inquiry About Child’s Native American Heritage 

 

A. Status Hearing  
1. Hearing is Mandatory 

The Status Hearing is mandatory unless the court holds an initial Permanency Hearing 
under Tex. Fam. Code § 262.2015 (aggravated circumstances) before the date a Status 
Hearing is required. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.201(b). 
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2. Must Be Held No Later Than 60th Day After Temporary Managing 
Conservatorship Order 

Not later than the 60th day after the date the court renders a temporary order appointing 
DFPS as temporary managing conservator of a child, the court shall hold a Status 
Hearing to review the child’s status and service plan. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.201(a). 

3. Notice Must Be Given Pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 263.0021 

In 2015, the 84th Texas Legislature enacted a new statute regarding notice of a hearing 
under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 263.  Notice of a hearing under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 
263 shall be given to all persons entitled to notice of the hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.0021(a). 

The following persons are entitled to at least 10 days' notice and are entitled to present 
evidence and be heard at a hearing under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 263: 

x DFPS; 

x The foster parent, pre-adoptive parent, relative providing care, or the director or 
director’s designee of the group home or general residential operation where the 
child resides; 

x Each parent of the child; 

x The managing conservator or guardian of the child; 

x An attorney ad litem appointed for the child, if the appointment was not dismissed 
in the final order; 

x A guardian ad litem appointed for the child, if the appointment was not dismissed in 
the final order; 

x A volunteer advocate appointed for the child, if the appointment was not dismissed 
in the final order; 

x The child if: 

o the child is 10 years of age or older; or 

o the court determines it is appropriate for the child to receive notice; and 

x Any other person or agency named by the court to have an interest. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 263.0021(b).    

Notice of a hearing under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 263 may be given: 

x As provided by Tex. R. Civ. P. 21a; 
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x In a temporary order following a full Adversary Hearing; 

x In an order following a hearing under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 263; 

x In open court; or 

x In any manner that would provide actual notice to a person entitled to notice. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.0021(c). 

B. Mandatory Findings 
During a Status Hearing, the court shall make findings as to whether: 

x DFPS has exercised due diligence to locate all necessary persons, including an 
alleged father of the child, regardless of whether the alleged father is registered with 
the paternity registry under Tex. Fam. Code § 160.402. DFPS is required to file a 
report under Tex. Fam. Code § 263.007 detailing its efforts to identify, locate, and 
provide information to each adult described by Tex. Fam. Code § 262.1095(a). Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.202(f) requires that the court review the report and order DFPS to 
make further efforts, if warranted. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.202(a)(1); Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.202(f); Tex. Fam. Code § 262.1095(a); and Tex. Fam. Code § 263.007. 

x The child and each parent, alleged father, or relative of the child before the court have 
furnished to DFPS all available information necessary to locate another absent parent, 
alleged father, or relative of the child through the exercise of due diligence. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 263.202(a)(2). 

x A plan that has the goal of returning the child to the parent adequately ensures that 
reasonable efforts are made to enable the child’s parents to provide a safe 
environment for the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(b)(1). The court shall give the 
child’s parents the opportunity to comment on the service plan. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.202(g). 

x The parents have reviewed and understand the plan, the plan is reasonably tailored to 
address any specific issues identified by DFPS, and the child’s parents and the 
representative of DFPS has signed the plan. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(b)(2), (3) and 
(4). 

x The court has identified the individual who has the right to consent to medical 
treatment for the child under Tex. Fam. Code § 266.004. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.202(e). 

x The court is directed to inquire at the Status Hearing whether parents or other parties 
have provided information necessary to locate an alleged father, an absent parent, or 
a relative of the child. It is left to the court to decide what action, if any, should be 
taken in response to a negative answer. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(a)(2). 
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x The court is required, after reviewing and making any necessary modifications, to 
incorporate the service plan into the orders of the court and may render additional 
appropriate orders to implement or require compliance with the plan. Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 263.202(b-1). 

 
 

C. Court Shall Advise/Warn Parents 
1. Service Plan Progress Shall Be Reviewed at All Subsequent Hearings 

The court shall advise the parties that progress under the service plan will be reviewed at 
all subsequent hearings, including a review of whether the parties have acquired or 
learned any specific skills or knowledge stated in the service plan. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.203(b).   

2. Court Shall Warn Parents 

The court is required to inform each parent in open court that parental and custodial rights 
and duties may be subject to restriction or to termination unless the parent or parents 
demonstrate a willingness and ability to provide the child with a safe environment. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.006 and Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(b)(2). 

3. Advise Parent of Appointment of Attorney 

Tex. Fam. Code § 263.203(a) requires that the court advise the parties of the provisions 
regarding the mandatory appointment of an attorney ad litem under Tex. Fam. Code 
Subchapter A Chapter 107 and appoint an attorney ad litem to represent the interests of 
any person eligible if the appointment is required by that subchapter. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.203(a). 

Tex. Fam. Code § 263.0061 requires notice to parents of right to counsel.  At the Status 
Hearing required by Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 263, Subchapter C and at each 
Permanency Hearing required by Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 263, Subchapter D, the court 
shall inform each parent not represented by an attorney of: 

Special Issue: DFPS is required to involve the parents in developing the Service Plan. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.102(a)(3). Parent attorneys are entitled to attend any case staffing in 
which the parent is invited to participate, including to develop a family service plan. Tex. 
Fam. Code §107.0131(a)(2)(F). Courts should consider whether DFPS has involved 
counsel for the child and whether the parent has substantial input as to what services are 
appropriate to help the family reunify and ensure the child’s well-being. Courts should also 
consider including language which takes into account the individualized needs and 
circumstances of the family and the reasons the child was removed rather than the use of 
boilerplate language. 
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x The right to be represented by an attorney; and 

x If a parent is indigent and appears in opposition to the suit, the right to a court-
appointed attorney. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.0061(a). 

If a parent claims indigence and requests the appointment of an attorney in a proceeding 
under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 263, Subchapter C and Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 263, 
Subchapter D, the court shall require the parent to complete and file with the court an 
affidavit of indigence.  The court may hear evidence to determine whether the parent is 
indigent.  If the court determines the parent is indigent, the court shall appoint an attorney 
to represent the parent. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.0061(b). 

4. Court Shall Review Visitation Plan 

Court shall review the visitation plan, taking into consideration the factors specified in Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.107(c). Tex. Fam. Code § 263.108(a).  See Section E of this chapter. 

The court may modify, or order DFPS to modify, an original or amended visitation plan at 
any time. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.108(b). 

D. Court Shall Review Service Plan 
1. Service Plan Shall Be Filed 

Except as provided by Tex. Fam. Code § 262.2015, DFPS must file a service plan not 
later than the 45th day after the date the court renders a temporary order appointing 
DFPS as temporary managing conservator of a child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.101.   

Tex. Fam. Code § 263.103 requires that the service plan shall be developed jointly with 
the parents. If the parents refuse to or are unable to participate, DFPS is required to file 
the service plan with the court and request that the court order that it is effective. The 
service plan remains in effect until amended by the court. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.103.   

Tex. Fam. Code § 263.104 clarifies that any amendments to the service plan shall be 
developed jointly with the parents. If the parents refuse to or are unable to participate, 
DFPS is required to file the service plan with the court for it to become effective. The 
parent is allowed to file a motion with the court at any time to request review and 
modification of the amended service plan. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.104. A court can modify 
a service plan at any time. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.106.   

2. Contents of the Service Plan 

The service plan must: 

x Be specific; 

x Be in writing and in a language that the parents understand, or made otherwise 
available; 
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x Be prepared by DFPS in conference with the child’s parents; 

x State appropriate deadlines; 

x Specify the primary permanency goal and at least one alternative goal;  

x State the steps necessary to: 

o return the child to the child’s home if the placement is in foster care; 

o enable the child to remain in the child’s home with the assistance of a service 
plan if placement is in the home under DFPS’s supervision; or 

o otherwise provide a permanent safe placement for the child; 

x State the actions and responsibilities that are necessary for the child’s parents to 
take to achieve the plan goal during the period of the service plan and the 
assistance to be provided to the parents by DFPS or other agency toward meeting 
that goal; 

x State any specific skills or knowledge that the child’s parents must acquire or learn, 
as well as any behavioral changes the parents must exhibit, to achieve the plan 
goal; 

x State the actions and responsibilities that are necessary for the child’s parents to 
take to ensure that the child attends school and maintains or improves the child’s 
academic compliance; 

x State the name of the person with DFPS whom the child’s parents may contact for 
information relating to the child if other than the person preparing the plan; and 

x Prescribe any other term or condition that DFPS determines to be necessary to the 
service plan’s success. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.102(a). 

The service plan shall include the following statement: 

TO THE PARENT: THIS IS A VERY IMPORTANT DOCUMENT. ITS PURPOSE IS TO 
HELP YOU PROVIDE YOUR CHILD WITH A SAFE ENVIRONMENT WITHIN THE 
REASONABLE TIME PERIOD SPECIFIED IN THE PLAN. IF YOU ARE UNWILLING OR 
UNABLE TO PROVIDE YOUR CHILD WITH A SAFE ENVIRONMENT, YOUR 
PARENTAL AND CUSTODIAL RIGHTS MAY BE RESTRICTED OR TERMINATED OR 
YOUR CHILD MAY NOT BE RETURNED TO YOU. THERE WILL BE A COURT 
HEARING AT WHICH A JUDGE WILL REVIEW THIS SERVICE PLAN. Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 263.102(b).  
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3. Service Plans for Children Under Two Years of Age 

DFPS shall consult with relevant professionals to determine the skills or knowledge that 
the parents of a child under two years of age should learn or acquire to provide a safe 
placement for the child. DFPS shall incorporate those skills and abilities into service 
plans, as appropriate. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.102(f). 

4. Effective Date 

The service plan takes effect when: 

x The child’s parents and the appropriate representative of DFPS sign the plan; or 

x The court issues an order giving effect to the plan without the parents’ signatures. 
Tex. Fam. Code § 263.103(d).   

The plan is in effect until amended by the court or is superseded by a new plan negotiated 
between the parents and DFPS. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.103(e) and Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.104. A court can modify a service plan at any time. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.106.  

5. Court Implementation of Service Plan 

After reviewing the original or any amended service plan, and making any changes or 
modifications deemed necessary, the court must incorporate the original or amended 
service plan into the orders of the court.  The court may also render additional appropriate 
orders to implement or require compliance with an original or amended service plan. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.106. 

E. Court Shall Review Visitation Plan 
For more information regarding visitation and relevant forms, please see Bench Book chapter 
on Family Visitation.   

1. Visitation Plan 

Visitation plans apply only to a child in the temporary managing conservatorship of DFPS 
for whom the goal of DFPS is reunification of the child with the child’s parent. Tex. Fam. 
Code § 263.107(a). 

Not later than the 30th day after the date DFPS is named temporary managing 
conservator of a child, DFPS, in collaboration with each parent of the child, shall develop 
a visitation plan. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.107(b). 

In determining the frequency and circumstances of visitation under Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.107, DFPS must consider:  

x The safety and best interest of the child; 
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x The age of the child; 

x The desires of each parent regarding visitation with the child; 

x The location of each parent and the child; and 

x The resources available to DFPS, including the resources to: 

o ensure that visitation is properly supervised by a DFPS employee or an 
available and willing volunteer DFPS determines suitable after conducting a 
background and criminal history check; and 

o provide transportation to and from visits. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.107(c). 

Not later than the 10th day before the date of a Status Hearing under Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.201, DFPS shall file with the court a copy of the visitation plan developed under Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.107. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.107(d). 

DFPS may amend the visitation plan on mutual agreement of the child’s parents and 
DFPS or as DFPS considers necessary to ensure the safety of the child.  An amendment 
to the visitation plan must be in the child’s best interest.  DFPS shall file a copy of any 
amended visitation plan with the court. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.107(e). 

A visitation plan developed under Tex. Fam. Code § 263.107 may not conflict with a court 
order relating to possession of and access to the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.107(f). 

2. Review of Visitation Plan; Modification 

At the first hearing held under Tex. Fam. Code Chapter 263 after the date an original or 
amended visitation plan is filed with the court under Tex. Fam. Code § 263.107, the court 
shall review the visitation plan, taking into consideration the factors listed under Tex. Fam. 
Code § 263.107(c). Tex. Fam. Code § 263.108(a). 

The court may modify, or order DFPS to modify, an original or amended visitation plan at 
any time. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.108(b). 

A parent who is entitled to visitation under a visitation plan may at any time file a motion 
with the court to request review and modification of an original or amended visitation plan.  
Tex. Fam. Code § 263.108(c). 

3. Court Implementation of Visitation Plan 

After reviewing an original or amended visitation plan, the court shall render an order 
regarding a parent’s visitation with a child that the court determines appropriate. Tex. 
Fam. Code § 263.109(a). 

If the court finds that visitation between a child and a parent is not in the child’s best 
interest, the court shall render an order that: 

x States the reasons for finding that visitation is not in the child’s best interest; and 
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x Outlines specific steps the parent must take to be allowed to have visitation with 
the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.109(b). 

If the order regarding visitation between a child and a parent requires supervised visitation 
to protect the health and safety of the child, the order must outline specific steps the 
parent must take to have the level of supervision reduced. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.109(c). 

F. Child Placement Resources Form 
The court shall require all parties present at the Status Hearing to file a Child Placement 
Resources Form, if they have not already done so. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.201(c).   

G. Permanency Planning Meetings 
1. Timing of Permanency Planning Meetings  

DFPS shall hold a permanency planning meeting for each child for whom DFPS is 
appointed temporary managing conservator in accordance with department rule that is 
designed to allow the child to exit the managing conservatorship of DFPS safely and as 
soon as possible and be placed with an appropriate adult caregiver who will permanently 
assume legal responsibility for the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.009(a). 

2. Permanency Planning Meeting Requirements 

At each permanency planning meeting, DFPS shall: 

x Identify any barriers to achieving a timely permanent placement for the child;  

x Develop strategies and determine actions that will increase the probability of 
achieving a timely permanent placement for the child; and 

x Use the family group decision-making model whenever possible. Tex. Fam. Code § 
263.009(b). 

H. Assessments 
Not later than the 45th day after the date a child enters the conservatorship of DFPS, the child 
shall receive a developmentally appropriate comprehensive assessment. Tex. Fam. Code § 
266.012(a). 

The assessment must include: 

x A screening for trauma; and 

x Interviews with individuals who have knowledge of the child’s needs. Tex. Fam. Code 
§ 266.012(a). 
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I. Inquiry Regarding Child’s Native American Heritage 
The court shall ask all parties present at the Status Hearing whether the child or the child’s 
family has a Native American heritage and identify any Native American tribe with which the 
child may be associated. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(f-1). For more information regarding 
requirements when a child has a Native American heritage, please see the Bench Book 
chapter on the Indian Child Welfare Act. 

 


